Wednesday, March 7, 2007

Divorce Laws

Divorce Laws
Divorce laws in America is different for each state. There are mainly three types of divorce. Different states follow their own state divorce laws. To see laws in a particular state please refer to that particular state law.
Absolute Divorce
An absolute divorce, is a judicial termination of a marriage based on marital misconduct or other statutory cause arising after the marriage ceremony in which both parties' status becomes single again.

Limited Divorce
Several state jurisdictions' statutes authorize limited divorces. The consequences of limited divorces vary from state to state. Typically, a limited divorce is commonly referred to as a separation decree; the right to cohabitation is terminated but the marriage is undissolved and the status of the parties is not altered.

No Fault Divorce
No fault divorce law eliminates requirement of "proof of fault" by providing for the dissolution of a marriage on a finding that the relationship is no longer viable.

No comments: